Fresh Squeezed

Well, I had my first experience with the squeezie maker mentioned earlier this week. Here are my trials and tribulations…

First of all, it’s very easy to put together. All you have to do is slide the pouch into the press using the notch around the mouthpiece. It will click once it’s in place.

11-11-15 squeezie11-11-15 squeezie 5

Then you screw the silos onto the mouthpiece until locked.

11-11-15 squeezie 2

Viola! However, this photo is a misrepresentation of how it should really look. The purple piece that holds everything together is facing the wrong direction. It should be popped out and turned around. This makes taking the filled pouches out a thousand times easier. Live and learn, right?

11-11-15 squeezie 3

For this first batch my recipe is this:

  • 2 C steamed beets
  • 12 oz fresh raspberries
  • 1 C greek yogurt
  • 1/4 C honey

First I pulverized the steamed beets in the food processor.

11-11-15 squeezie 4

Since they were still steaming hot (as evidenced by the photo), I let them sit and cool for a couple minutes.

Then I added my raspberries and pureed.

11-11-15 squeezie 6

Lastly, I added my greek yogurt and honey and sent the mixture for a spin again.

11-11-15 squeezie 8

Such a pretty color! Forewarning… this puree will stain.

Now it was time to fill the pouches and it was super easy. Just ladle the puree into the silos.

11-11-15 squeezie 911-11-15 squeezie 10

After they’re filled you take the plunger and press the puree into the pouches.

11-11-15 squeezie 11

While easy, I didn’t like that the plunger created so much suction that it pulled some of the puree back up into the silo. It took some finagling in order to press the puree into the pouch while also making sure most of it didn’t get sucked back up.

After each silo has been pressed into the pouch, you simply take the pouch out and pop the top on.

11-11-15 squeezie 12

This batch yielded 8 pouches total. I popped two in the refrigerator and the rest in the freezer. They’re only good for 48 hours after they’ve been thawed, but can last up to 2 months in the freezer.

11-11-15 squeezie 13

In hindsight this puree will stain if it gets on clothes, hands, and little mouths. As always, keep a watchful eye while your child eats. My daughter had one this morning and she ate the whole thing up, but managed to get a spot on her shirt. Nothing a little stain remover can’t fix, but keep that in mind if you do make these.

I’m excited to try some other recipes. These ones were a little tart, I would consider adding banana next time for a little more sweetness.

My next puree is going to be sweet potato, apple, and banana – I might try to put some oats in that one. Turns out, I might be addicted to this process. After a stressful week, nothing is more satisfying than pulverizing food and pressing it into pouches.

Leave a Reply

