Teal Pumpkin Project

Have you read about the teal pumpkin project? It’s a campaign to raise awareness for food allergies and promotes inclusion for all trick-or-treaters on Halloween. Basically, anyone sporting a teal pumpkin by their door has non-food alternatives for your child to take as their treat.

As someone who has family and close friends with food allergies, this campaign is especially appealing to me to support. Not to mention, if my child had food allergies it would make me happy to see others including her on such a fun night.

So last night my daughter and I got to painting a white rubber pumpkin that I bought at target. We’ll put it out on the porch Saturday night when trick-or-treaters come around, along with the print out offered on the FARE website. Of course, if a child were to prefer the non-food alternative to candy and they don’t have an allergy, I’m still happy to oblige. There’s plenty to go around.

It was a simple project that cost less than $10 and can be used for years to come. Even if one kid asks for the non-food alternative I would call this a success.

Leave a Reply

