Starting on the Nursery

OK, so the title is a little misleading. We have already started on the nursery, but it still has a ways to go. These last few weeks of pregnancy are the most difficult due to the anticipation, so I think getting this nursery put together will keep my mind busy.

Here is where we’re starting:

10-21-15 nursery before
The view from the door.

I’ve already filled the dresser with our hand-me-down 0-3 month outfits. It was so fun to pull out all the old baby clothes and reminisce with the husband over them. “Remember when she wore this one?” and “Oh, she’s wearing this in that picture we love.” I’m excited for these clothes to get used again!

Back to the nursery…

The walls were painted this color when we moved in. After finding out I was pregnant again, my husband and I agreed that we would leave the color as is.

10-21-15 nursery before 5

I found this dresser at an estate sale a couple months ago. I considered refinishing or painting it, but it’s in great condition. So my other option was to use a stain pen to fill in some of the minor scratches. It worked beautifully! I also debated changing out the hardware, but I think the original is so pretty. Also, the hardware size isn’t very common, so there aren’t many options out there that were both attractive and affordable. The top left handle is in my purse – still have to reattach it.

10-21-15 nursery before 2

We still need to find shades for the window – the curtains are staying. The chair was my husband’s grandmother’s. It’s comfortable, but squeaky. I’m going to need to use some WD-40 on the rocking mechanism.

IMG_5430

There are six very poorly placed and weirdly spaced holes on this wall next to the dresser. Part of the reason I haven’t gotten any further with this nursery is that I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do to cover these up. I have a few ideas, so we’ll see what sticks.

10-21-15 nursery before 910-21-15 nursery before 7IMG_5431IMG_5432

Really, all that’s left to do is the shades, toy storage, artwork, and finishing touches. The furniture will stay in it’s place (minus the djembe in the corner). The closet could also stand to be organized. Right now it houses our luggage and ironing board, but it has great built-ins that would be perfect for diaper and wipe storage.

I’m really looking forward to finishing this space, and meeting the little girl who will call this her room one day.

One thought on “Starting on the Nursery

Leave a Reply

