Birthday Party with a Frozen-ish Theme

The one year birthday party seems to be something that has taken off lately. We definitely went big last year – 70 guests, food truck catering, venue rental, it was over the top according to our standards. This year we will be pulling things back slightly.

We will be celebrating at our house and I’m cooking. Guest list is at 40-45 people, so I’m hoping for nice weather so the kids can play outside. I’m a little nervous since it’s the most people we’ve had at our house, but I’m excited to have everyone over. It’s the first time most of our family has been to the house, so celebrating our girl will be a nice way to break it in.

IMG_6392

Above is a shot of the room last year. My brother is a local volunteer firefighter, so we were able to score this large banquet hall, complete with restaurant quality kitchen at no cost. We did donate to the firehouse, so it wasn’t completely “free”, but was still a great way to save some money and give back to the community.

As I mentioned earlier this week, my daughter’s only request was an Anna and Elsa “Frozen” cake.  Which I’m most definitely delivering on and most definitely hiring out. Besides cake, the menu will look like this:

Snacks:

  • Marshmallows on a stick via Catch My Party
  • Powdered sugar donuts “snowballs”
  • Pretzel Rods dipped in white chocolate and blue sugar sprinkles to follow the theme
  • Fruit skewers, or “princess wands”
  • Hummus and veggies – no theme here I just like to eat ’em

Lunch:

  • Baked Ziti with Meatballs and Italian Sausage – my own recipe that I’ll share one day
  • Salad
  • Bread
  • Frozen themed blue jello cubes if I have time

Drinks:

  • Beer and Wine – enough for 30 adults.
  • Spiked cider – another recipe I’ll have to share, it’s a seasonal favorite of mine!
  • Frozen blue punch
  • Juice boxes for the littles.

For activities, I’m still on the hunt for something quick and easy that the kids will enjoy. I’ve seen a few “pin the nose on Olaf” game ideas that I think could be cute.

Today I’m fumbling around and trying to put together a final to-do list. I feel like there’s still so much that needs to get done and I’m running out of time!

Had to.
2 thoughts on “Birthday Party with a Frozen-ish Theme

Leave a Reply

