Autumn Bucket List: Apple Picking – and a recipe!

This weekend we went to a local apple orchard to pick apples. It’s something my daughter had never experienced, but she loves apples and, as expected, she had a blast!
9-30-15 apple picking

The apples were HUGE and I thought would be great for apple crisp. So later that day, my daughter and I got to making one of my most favorite fall recipes – apple crisp! She’s at such a fun age right now where she loves to help me bake by dumping in all the ingredients as I measure them out.

My apple crisp recipe is heavy on the crumb topping, a bit lighter on the sweetness, and 100% delicious.

9-29-15 apple crisp 2

You will need:
Apples – about 6C total. I used three of the giant apples pictured above.
2 tbsp white sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

For the topping:
1 C oats
1 C flour
1 1/4 C brown sugar
6 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350°
Peel and slice the apples.
In a 9×9 baking dish, spread the apples and coat with white sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
Toss to evenly distribute.
In a separate bowl add the oats, flour, brown sugar, butter, and salt.
Using a pastry cutter, a fork, or your hands (my method of choice), cut in the butter until crumbles form.
Spread the crumble mixture over the apples.
Optional – melt 2 tbsp additional butter and pour over the top.
Bake for 45 minutes.
Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, or eat it by its-delicious-self!

9-29-15 apple crisp 7

Leave a Reply

